Due to a bug in one of the older versions of Dropbox some users have lost their files that were in serviced in the cloud, according to Engadget. Only a small number of users would be affected.

The files were spontaneously deleted during a synchronization of Dropbox. The problem would mainly occur in older versions, Dropbox reports in an email to one of the victims. In newer versions, the bug has already been resolved. Dropbox will now examine how these mistakes can be avoided in the future.

Victims of the bug can register with Dropbox. The lost files won't be restored, but as compensation they'll receive a free one year subscription of Dropbox Pro.